How To Get A Red Hat Linux Certification

How To Get A Red Hat Linux Certification

Why Ought to I Get A Linux Certification?

Well, the primary query you may need is why must you get a Linux certification? The answer to this is just like getting certifications in general. It helps to show your knowledge in the Linux working system, by testing and passing a minimum normal of knowledge.

It will probably also aid you get a job in the industry. Many jobs require or desire a certification in Linux, akin to Linux administrators or common server administrators. It will probably also add to your present Linux information, which you might apply to your present job.

Which Linux Certification Ought to I Get?

This could possibly be a complete submit on its own - but I am going to include all the information right here in a single handy place.

There are four main providers of Linux certifications, and they all provide a variety of various certifications for various levels.


They offer a spread of certifications, with labels of Engineer, Skilled and Desktop Administrator.

Certified Linux Engineer 11 (CLE11) - supplies engineer-stage skills for managers and designers on massive systems based on SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 11. You'll want to have passed the Certified Linux Skilled eleven exam to be eligible for this.

Certified Linux Administrator eleven (CLA 11) - a new certification, focusing on each day operation of SUSE Linux Enterprise Server networks.

Licensed Linux Desktop Administrator (CLDA) - targeted on those with Windows desktop experience and want to find out about SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop.

Certified Linux Skilled eleven (CLP eleven) - gives abilities necessary to administrate SUSE Linux Enterprise Server.

ComptTIA solely provide a single Linux certification, the Linux+.

Linux+ - an entry-level certification for these seeking to get into the Linux field. Vendor neutral.
Linux Skilled Institute

The Linux Professional Institute, otherwise generally known as LPI, provide a few Linux certifications.

Linux Professional Institute Certification Level 1 (LPIC-1) - a junior stage Linux certification that tests basic abilities in main Linux distributions.

Linux Professional Institute Certification Degree 2 (LPIC-2) - an advanced degree Linux certification that features expertise in administration. Passing the LPIC-1 is required for this.

Linux Skilled Institute Certification Stage 3 (LPIC-3) - a senior-degree Linux certification for major Linux distributions that provides a number of specialties. Passing the LPIC-2 is required for this.
Red Hat

Red Hat supply a few certifications for their distribution of Linux.

Red Hat Certified System Administrator (RHCSA) - a lower-degree Linux certification that covers the fundamentals of administration.

Red Hat Certified Engineer (RHCE) - more advanced Linux certification, aimed at experienced Linux professionals. Passing the RHCSA is a requirement for this certification.

Red Hat Licensed Virtualization Administrator (RHCVA) - centered on deploying virtual hosts in the Linux atmosphere

Red Hat Certified Security Specialist (RHCSS) - centered on security measures and areas of Linux

Red Hat Licensed Datacentre Specialist (RHCDS) - focused on the requirements for administrating and supporting datacentre environments

Red Hat Licensed Architect (RHCA) - the highest stage of Red Hat certification, this focuses on professional matters of Linux administration and usage.
So, the reply to which Linux certification do you have to get?

It is determined by your experience and requirements. There are a number of junior Linux certifications (Linux+, RHCSA, LPIC, CLE11) that might be useful when you're trying to begin out.

More advanced certifications such as the RHCE, LPIC-2, CLA11 and CLP11 could be helpful in case you have more experience. In the event you're a senior skilled in the Linux area, I would look into the RHCA or the LPIC-3.

However, this article is targeted on the Red Hat certifications, so we're going to take a look at methods to get a Red Hat Linux certification in this article.

Website URL:

© 2010 - 2013 JoomlaXTC EcoSpa. All Rights Reserved.Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL License.